Celebrity Caribbean Lineage: Estelle

I want to introduce you to a talented young songstress who was born ‘across the pond’ in England but whose roots run much farther south. Estelle released her second album this year and from the samples I’ve heard, you will be pleased. See her album cover below.  

"Shine" 

 

Born into a strictly religious Senagalese/Granadan family where she was the second of eight children, Estelle learned early about responsibility for self and family, as well as how to escape life’s daily pressures through music. Though her mother had banned secular music in the house, young Estelle was exposed to African music and gospel (as well as her West Indian stepfather’s roots reggae and dub) via an impressive homemade sound system.

Estelle confides that,

My mom is African, but I still have my West Indian roots. She would make African food and listen to African music, but we still had rice and peas and reggae. So I’m able to adapt. I’ve spent the last five years of my life traveling, so my viewpoint is wider than the average rapper or singer.

To Listen to a few songs off her second album Shine check out the following link, make sure to listen to my favorite track No Substitute Love     http://www.estellemusic.com/music/player.php

For more about this talented young lady go to her official website  http://www.estellemusic.com/

Leave a Reply

