Restaurant Review: Calabash Vegetarian Kitchen

I was in the Georgia State area yesterday, and as it was such a beautiful day I walked to 5 Points and got hungry so I continued to walk to see what my options were. Now, as a quasi-vegetarian (I do eat fish), I do have discerning taste. I’ve lived in and visited many cities with cuisine too die for. I must say the few places I thought of did not satisfy my eye, which is the first step. I had all but given up when I thought, “Why don’t I go to see the “Oil Man” from Côte D’Ivoire with whom I always enjoy practicing my French.

As I arrived in front of his shop, I realized that another Black entrepreneur lost the battle. Just as I was about to turn and walk away, I heard the unmistakable sound of reggae music. It was faint and as I looked down the street and saw 3 men on the corner but could not fathom that they were singing. The melody pulled me forward as I had to find out its source!

I came to a speaker on the sidewalk and an open, inviting restaurant called CALABASH Vegetarian Kitchen. Instantly I felt as if I were at home. The soft yellow walls, cheerful owner and staff all added to the atmosphere that begged you to stay as long as you liked. Before I could place my order the owner came around with samples of a Raw Nori roll that was simply delish!

The food was scrumptious and filling! Ackee, Bar-B-Que tofu, brown rice and peas were my choices. However, I saw Escovich “Fish,” curry chana and potato, stew chunks, to name a few. You can select a small plate or large and they will pile on 3 or 4 choices.

If you are looking for a healthy treat, food from home or just something new to try Calabash Vegetarian Kitchen is the place!

Located at 233 Mitchell St. SW, Atlanta GA 30303 Phone: 404-957-7376

Inga O awards it 4 out of 5 Julie mangoes!

Thanks to D Smythe for the mangoes! http://www.pbase.com/image/13927266

Leave a Reply

