St. Vincent & The Grenadines: 29th Happy Independence!

On October 28th 2008 St Vincent & The Grenadines celebrated it’s 29th Anniversary of Independence and I asked a few of my Vincy friends to write something about what Independence mean to them. Here is what Alicia Dewar had to say:

Independence Day is a day to reflect on all the reasons I love St. Vincent and why I’m so proud to be Vincentian. Ask any one who was born there where “home” is, and no matter where they are in the world…”home” is always St. Vincent and the Grenadines. This little island has given me the freedom to to be who I am, and has taught me to appreciate the simple things in life. I guess the best way for me to express what Independence Day means to me is by quoting Becket (one of our favorite sons):

St. Vincent my homeland
You give me no mansion
No gold no diamonds
Yet, I love you a million
For the things that you have to offer
Are more than my heart desires
Lovely beach, tropical breeze
Always there, within my reach

I love you St. Vincent
Me Sweet little island St. Vincent
I love you St. Vincent
Home of the Blessed, St. Vincent
ST. VINCENT, ST. VINCENT
I LOVE YOU

One thought on “St. Vincent & The Grenadines: 29th Happy Independence!

Leave a Reply

