A NEW TWIST ON JAMAICA’S NATIONAL DISH!

All Right Belong to Their Owners

All Rights Belong to Owner(s)

 

Today I wanted Ackee and Salt Fish so bad and I have not had it in so long that I couldn’t be bothered to wait until I got a pack of salt fish. I thought to myself, “I have a can of ackee that came all the way from Canada (it’s much cheaper to get them from there believe it or not) and I have spices of course and although I don’t have a pack of salted Cod fish I do have a fillet of Salmon already seasoned and waiting in the fridge to be cooked.”

talk about an “AHA Moment”!  This is what I did:

  • I put oil in a pan and sauted fresh minced garlic to release the flavour but not to fry(I have a jar that I keep in the fridge)  
  • I added the pre-seasoned fish fillet to the hot oil and half cooked it on both sides but still raw in the center
  • I added a chopped jalapeno pepper (I didn’t have scotch bonnet peppers on hand)
  • I used a spatula to break up the fish into chunks
  • I added the can of ackee
  • I added about 2 tbs butter (I prefer the taste and texture of real cream salted butter)
  • I added salt to taste (remember in a Ackee and Salt Fish recipe the fish has so much salt but Salmon doesn’t)
  • Simmer about 15 minutes and stir gently

You won’t believe this but I ate it with a roti skin! (I have them in my freezer and they thaw quite quickly) Don’t be afraid to alter a favorite dish because you just might come up with a New Twist on a Favorite Dish!

 

IF YOU WANT TO GET THE REAL ACKEE & SALT FISH RECIPE CHECK OUT THIS VIDEO:

Leave a Reply

