Post Mortum….World Hair Show 2011 Taliah Waajid Volunteer

I was chosen as a Taliah Waajid Product Model Volunteer. I networked, made a few friends and I learned a few things from the experience. Here they are in no particular order:

~I realized that many people forget their manners when faced with getting free products and/or samples.

~I learned that you can have a difference of opinions but still work well together.

~I learned that graduating from Cosmetology School does not automatically guarantee that one knows how to handle all hair types, even within the natural hair circles.

~I’ve learned to express my desires for my hair and not let anyone’s ideas trump my own.

~I realized that I need to set boundaries and tell other’s what I am and am not willing to do.

~I learned that some people will take advantage of you if you let them while in pursuit of their goals.

~I learned that a little kindness goes a long way.

~I realize that the best relationships are mutually beneficial.

~I realized that the natural hair community is growing, and there is room to learn and to teach.

~I realize that despite the fact that some family and friends view my natural hair as ugly, there are a lot of people out there who love and admire it.  

~I learned that communication is golden when seasoned with compassion.

~I learned that people are hungry to learn about natural hair care and styles.

~I learned that sometimes people are not realistic about what natural styles they can achieve based on what they wish to have.

~I learned that some people are vulnerable when searching for something they want with out knowing for sure what it is.  

~I learned that sometimes people really do believe the hype without doing their hoemwork.   

~I realized that the business of natural hair is HUGE.

~I realize that when I share my natural hair knowledge with others I must do it with integrity.

~I realized that to myself I must be true.

~I realize that I need want to continue to use the momentum of the World Natural Hair Show 2011 to help others on their natural hair journey.

One thought on “Post Mortum….World Hair Show 2011 Taliah Waajid Volunteer

Leave a Reply

