Recycle Wednesday (When I Remember)

I missed the recycle truck this morning. I THOUGHT I got up early enough but they have come as early as 8:30am and as late as 10am. Alas, this morning they zoomed by at 8:30am sharp. Oh well, there is always next week. I can hear you saying, “Why don’t you put the recycling out the night before?” I tried that a couple of times but once I had an entire bag of recycling go missing it put a halt to that system. I rather take my chances with missing them early in the mornings than someone or something stealing my recyclables.

This week I will start Recycle Wednesdays. This is were I post interesting facts and tidbits about ways we can all reduce our consumption and reuse or recycle. It’s something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time. No time like the present, right?

This week I want to share the fact that Nike has a  program called “Reuse-A-Shoe” They take old and unwearable donated sneakers and separate the shoes to create tennis courts and the springy surface of running tracks. This is good but it gets better! Nike will offer you 10% off a new pair of sneakers when you recycle an old pair between April 15th and the end of May. I wish I didn’t throw away my old pair of Nike Shocks, i would have felt better than I did sending them to the land fill.

Nike Shoe Recycling. The upper, middle & sole have to be separated and sanitized before recycling.

Doing good has it’s rewards.

Inga O

Thanks to Do Your Part for info in part of this story

One thought on “Recycle Wednesday (When I Remember)

Leave a Reply

